Buff up your output with Bufferapp.com!

Why are you reading this? I hope it’s because you’ve been following me for a while and find a lot of what I say useful. I also hope that you’re acting on my recommendations, and are regularly updating your own tweet stream and news feed with useful information for your followers!

But it’s not always easy to keep updating, let alone time the information to come out a little at a time rather than clumping up your stream and overwhelming your audience! And it’s harder still to know the best times to send out updates full of useful information that will reach the highest possible numbers.

But not anymore! One company has set out to solve all these problems in one oh-so-easy click!

Bufferapp.com (http://bufferapp.com/r/0bb84 ) allows you to install a button on your chrome or firefox browser, click it and the page you are reading will be added to your ‘buffer. Your buffer will then post it to your tweet stream at a time when your audience is usually around its highest number. If you want to edit either the wording, or the time it’ll send, simply click the edit button on the site and away you go.

This works for any page being read on chrome or firefox, including pages from your own blog, so don’t forget to use this to promote yourself a little too! But what if you don’t use those browsers? Or are reading information you want to share on your phone or iPad? No problem, most pages online have a button you can press to send the link via email, simply click this and email it to your buffer (details of how to do this are on there website, it only takes a minute to set up.)

For people like me that have set times of the day available for reading buffer is a godsend, I no longer have to copy and paste every single link I like into my hootsuite, shrink it, write what it’s about, figure out when is best to send it and schedule it. ok so doing all that only takes a minute or two on each item, but it’s very disruptive and since I am no longer interrupting myself to do this I am reading and sharing much more.

Just as I was writing this the boys from buffer sent out an email to tell me they have improved buffer – if you are a blog owner you can now put a Buffer Button on your blog very simply, hopefully this will encourage people like me and people not reading on chrome or firefox to post your blog to their twitter and facebook streams. I’m planning to find some time to do this over the weekend, they tell me you just need to search plugins for “Buffer Button” and install it.

For most users the free account is all you will need as you can have 10 posts waiting to go out at any one time. And they send you a very polite email to let you know when your buffer is empty. but if you are an avid sharer or a social media professional do think about upgrading, for $5 a month you can have 50 tweets in 3 separate accounts, such a low fee it shouldn’t be a barrier to anyone.

I will stress here again that this type of posting should be a supplement and should most certainly not take the place of interacting with people. This is a fact that the creators of buffer know only too well, they are very happy to talk to people on twitter about buffer and other things, they are friendly, interested and polite. Buffer is a great tool created by some lovely chaps and I hope you find it as enjoyable and effective as I do. So go on – buff up your output!

http://bufferapp.com/r/0bb84

About GemLThompson

Gemma Thompson is the author of the best-selling “The British Book of Social Media Marketing”. She is a full time social media consultant and loves helping businesses grow. When she’s not working she can often be found watching Dr Who with her teenage daughter or indulging in a spot of inept D.I.Y (but no, she still hasn’t managed to make her house bigger on the inside than it is on the outside!)
This entry was posted in Social Media Strategy, Twitter. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Buff up your output with Bufferapp.com!

  1. Sorry… I have posted the wrong message… but your post is great anyway.

  2. Hi Peter,

    I have tried Bufferapp (I followed your recommandation) and I find this app simple and very useful. I use it now since 2 days and I’m happy to do it… ;). Thank you for your advice &CU Martin

    PS: I’ll send some twetter followerd on your blog… if they want obviously… 😉

Leave a Reply

